Informal Feminism











{December 19, 2010}   Introducing Me!

Hello there, my name is Liz Buck. I am 23 years and recently graduated from the Women’s Studies program at Trent University in Peterborough, ON. It has been 8 months since they handed me my degree. I can see it from where I sit, professionally framed and hanging on the wall of my tiny one bedroom apartment that I share with my partner Derek, my husky puppy Jube Jube and my regal cat Shasta.

Recently I have found myself at a loss, in the 8 months since I have left school I have felt disconnected from my feminism, I keep up through reading publications such as Bitch Magazine and Ms. Magazine but I have felt stagnant in my own contribution to the feminist community. This saddens me because my Women’s Studies classrooms were where I really found my home. It was an environment that I flourished in and had passion for. I discovered a world where I could talk openly about my beliefs to people who responded with respect and acceptance instead of being shrugged off and ignored. I met and worked with women who were actively trying to make a difference with women’s issues. After graduating at the end of April 2010 I found myself adrift, I needed to be making money quickly and I wasn’t sure where my path was leading. I didn’t know if I was going to return to school or if my formal education had ended. 

I took a full-time position at a health food store. My work as a health food store employee has been very interesting, I get lots of training and experience with things I haven’t previously explored. It has given me a new look at the medical industry and the tools I needed to take a holistic approach to my own health. It has also included a new and exciting way to approach women’s health, one in which women take control of their own bodies and how they are treated. However, I have been feeling something missing and this is due to being separated from Women’s Studies. I needed an outlet, that’s what I am doing here. In this blog I am planning to explore women’s lives and experiences and question the different roles we play in society. I don’t want to make my focus to broad but I don’t want to make it to narrow either. My current hope is to publish at least one post a week and hopefully create an environment where people feel comfortable challenge my opinions and expressing their own.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
